I Cooked Something: Crock-Pot Chicken Tacos

Everybody knows I’m an abysmal cook. It’s a running joke among friends and family at this point. Darin does most of the cooking when we want something edible for dinner. However, he’s been working some late hours at work, so I’ve gotten up the courage to try a few things. My requirements for the recipes I try are that they’re super easy to make (obviously), reasonably inexpensive, and probably chicken.

Anyway, on Tuesday I made chicken tacos. Not only were they a rare success (super delicious and easy), but they fed us for 2 dinners and soon to be one lunch. Since I’m so impressed with the recipe, here it is!

chickentacos

Click to enlarge.

I found the recipe at Two Healthy Kitchens, and was sold when they mentioned how easy it was. The recipe says to cook on high for 4 hours, but my Crock-Pot is old and has numbers instead of low/high settings. I assumed “high” would be the highest number (5), but after two hours I noticed that the chicken would totally dry out and possibly even burn if I left it like that for 4 hours. I turned it down to 2 and in the end it was perfect. I applauded myself for the killer instincts. (I burn stuff a lot, so I’m beginning to notice the early signs.) Anyway, just check it a few times to see if it looks like it’s going to burn or whatever.

As for the particulars of the tacos we made: The salsa I used was a medium, which gave the chicken a nice flavor without being too spicy. We’re trying to eat healthier, so I served the chicken with corn, pinto beans, cheese and corn tortillas, skipping things like guac and sour cream. The corn and pintos brought the moisture instead, and it all worked out really well.

For the effort it took to make (marginal) compared to the results (good, definitely edible) – 10/10 would make again. If my Grandma Ross were alive, she’d give this recipe a VG (“very good”), so I thought I’d share. Let me know if you make this, and how it turns out!

1 Comment

Filed under Author: Jack

One response to “I Cooked Something: Crock-Pot Chicken Tacos

  1. Ema Jones

    Crock-Pot+Chicken+Tacos, wonderful combination!
    I love chicken. I tried baked Chicken Cutlets..
    http://bit.ly/JahYM2

    Like

Leave a Reply

